Alter Ego Proposal

Lolita Doll

My altar ego will be a lolita- living doll.
I’m choosing this because this is a trend in Japanese culture and i am curious to see how people will react to me here while I’m dressed as a lolita while doing my daily routines such as work, school, etc.
This look is different from me because this look is like being in costume but is considered your everyday dress.  It requires a lot of time to achieve this look, and the dress I have resembles a baby doll and is very child like.  I will look like a living doll.
I will execute the change by being in costume(hair, makeup, dress) and will be doing my same daily routines for a few hours a day totaling 12 hours.  I will be going to work, school, dinner, and Little Tokyo.
My blogging will consist of pictures and an explanation of my day and the experience that i encounter on each occasion.  I will be out of my norm and am curious to see how others will react to me and also compare the reactions/ acceptance of others in areas where lolitas are rare and in Little Tokyo where its considered a norm?

Lolita is a street fashion and a subculture in Japan, known for its intricate and delicate doll-like look. The clothing is inspired mainly by the Rococo and Victorian eras, and covers a large variety of sub-styles mainly worn by females

Lolita is a term that refers to a sexually precocious young girl by dictionary definition, a term that is based on Vladimir Nabokov’s novel Lolita (1955). However, this definition does not apply to Japanese Lolita fashion.

The western adaption of lolita is sexy, Japanese Lolita fashion strives for the opposite. It’s a very modest look that the majority of Lolitas would describe as elegant and cute, rather than sexy. As such, Ero Lolita may be seen as controversial within the own subculture, as it’s the only style to lean towards sexiness; although it remains modest compared to the majority of western fashion styles.

For my project, I want to wear 3 different styles of lolita fashion. Ive already made my first dress and am working on my second.  First dress- Sweet Lolita- is the most over-the-top style and includes aesthetics nearly exclusive to lolita. It is also the most child-like of the lolita styles, using many bows, ruffles and light colors to make up an outfit. The most common colors used in a Sweet Lolita outfit are pink, white, and powder blue, but an outfit can be made with nearly any pastel or plaid.

Common motifs in Sweet Lolita are toys, strawberries, cherries, cakes and candies, hearts, polka dots and flowers. Prints inspired by fairy tales are also quite common.

Light, natural make-up complements this style. Teased out pigtails and bouncy curls are commonly worn by Sweet Lolitas.

Second dress- Shiro Lolita, or ‘White Lolita,’ is a Lolita outfit made entirely of white/cream/off-white co-ordinates. Shiro Lolita can be taken from any style of lolita, whether it be Gothic, Sweet or Classic, if the co-ordination is completely white then it is accepted as Shiro Lolita. Because second dress is white,  I would also like to dress in Guro Lolita, or ‘Gore Lolita’ which is gory and can range from anything to some bandages, a sling, or some blood splatters on your clothing. Guro Lolita is a style of Lolita that tries to portray a ‘broken-dolly’ sort of look, a gruesome yet innocent sub-set of Lolita.

This entry was posted in Art 302. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

